HomeLiterary FridayLiterary Friday, Edition 150

Literary Friday, Edition 150

Scroll down to Literary News for giveaway details! 

Summer Reading List Sneak Peek

minnowOur Summer Reading List doesn’t debut until the end of this month, but we thought we’d give readers a sneak peek at a few of the books available now. There’s no excuse not to start your summer reading early and prepare for Twitter chats with several of these authors. We’ll release the full chat schedule with the list and, as always, there will be plenty of book giveaways and a few other surprises throughout the summer. Happy reading!

 

Literary News

Florida writer Christopher Balogh details Zora Neale Hurston’s Hunt for Hoodoo in New Orleans, proving the author was Gonzo before it existed.

mockingbirdnextdoorKottke published Harper Lee’s recipe for crackling cornbread from the 1961 Artists’ and Writers’ Cookbook. The only catch? It costs about $250 to make.

In anticipation of Lee’s Go Set a Watchman this summer, the paperback version of Marja Mills’ The Mockingbird Next Door was released earlier this week. GIVEAWAY: Comment on Literary Friday today for a chance to win a copy! U.S.-only entries please.

We have some book to film news in our interview with Louisiana production company Cross Creek Pictures. Fans of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and Jess Walter’s Beautiful Ruins will want to read.

 

Literary Events

See Tennessee Williams: The Playwright and the Painter on exhibit at the Ogden Museum in New Orleans through May 31.

The Welty Biennial in Jackson, Mississippi, is happening now through July 3 with exhibits, concerts, a dance party and snapshot contest.

The Yokshop in Oxford, Mississippi, a three-day workshop with host M.O. Walsh, is scheduled for May 15-17.

Walker Percy The South Carolina Book Festival takes place May 15-17 in Columbia with Mary Alice Monroe, Dorothea Benton Frank, Patti Callahan Henry, Karen White, Lee Smith and many more guest authors.

Walker Percy Weekend in St. Francisville, Louisiana, is scheduled for June 5-7 with panel discussions, craft bourbon, culinary events and documentary films.

Save the date for SAFTA’s Fiction Writing Retreat May 29-31 and Poetry Writing Retreat June 12-14 at Firefly Farms in Knoxville, Tennessee.

 

New in Southern Voice

A Navy Wedding Dress and a Voyage, a portrait of one of North Carolina’s most elegant — and daring — mothers by Susan Harlan.

 

To find out more about your favorite Southern authors’ haunts and hangouts, download the Deep South Literary Trail App, available direct from iTunes and for Android and perfect for those fall road trips. 

SHARE THIS STORY:
8 Outdoor Adventures
A Navy Wedding Dress
5 COMMENTS
  • Laura McNeill / May 8, 2015

    Great giveaway & exciting news about Cross Creek Pictures, especially Jess Walter’s Beautiful Ruins.

  • LanieW / May 8, 2015

    Would love to win The Mockingbird Next Door. My library has a wait list for it.

  • Carl / May 9, 2015

    Thanks for all the great literary news. I wish I was able to participate in all of it. I would be very interested in winning a copy of The Mockingbird Next Door. I’ve been following the story of Harper Lee’s new book with fascination so this would be a wonderful companion piece. Thanks for the chance to win a copy.

  • rose / May 9, 2015

    thank you!

LEAVE A COMMENT

Web Analytics