HomeBooksSummer Reading List Sneak Peek

Summer Reading List Sneak Peek

Our Summer Reading List doesn’t debut until the end of this month, but we thought we’d give readers a sneak peek at a few of the books available now. There’s no excuse not to start your summer reading early and prepare for Twitter chats with several of these authors. We’ll release the full chat schedule with the list and, as always, there will be plenty of book giveaways and a few other surprises throughout the summer. Happy reading!

 

onethatogtawayThe One That Got Away by Bethany Chase

Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, this release from Ballantine Books is a contemporary romance set in Austin, Texas. Sarina Mahler thinks she has her life all nailed down with a growing architecture practice and an any-day-now proposal from her loving boyfriend, Noah. But when retired Olympic swimmer — and former flame — Eamon Roy back in town asking asking her to renovate his new fixer-upper, Sarina’s life takes an unexpected turn.

 

 

Whisper-HollowWhisper Hollow by Chris Cander

Available now from Other Press, this breakthrough novel encompasses a multi-generational story of love, betrayal and secrets. An evocative portrait of life in a small Southern mining town and spanning 50 years, Whisper Hollow explores the intertwined lives of three women and what happens when they’re forced to contend with deeply personal unspoken truths.

 

 

the-happy-hour-choirThe Happy Hour Choir by Sally Kilpatrick

Available now from Kensington Books, this debut novel by an Atlanta author features protagonist Beulah Land, a woman whose past as an unwed teen mother distances her from God and the church located just across the road from her job as a piano player for the town’s only bar. Circumstances force Beulah to take over the choir at County Line Methodist, putting her at odds with the church’s new minister and certain members of the congregation who disapprove of the motley crew of singers Beulah recruits from the bar.

 

 

minnowMinnow by James E. McTeer II

Released May 1 from Hub City Press, Minnow is a Gullah-culture Heart of Darkness, a fabulist story of a boy in search of a magic cure for his dying father. The deeper Minnow goes into the ancient world of the Southern Sea Islands — and the stranger the obstacles he meets — the more resolute the young protagonist becomes. “Minnow is an urgent novel, as stark and wild as the fairy tale deep in its bones,” says Lauren Groff.

 

 

POST TAGS:
SHARE THIS STORY:
Summer Movie Preview
Dive Into Deep Eddy
NO COMMENTS

LEAVE A COMMENT