5 Weird Driving Laws in Texas You’ve Never Heard Of
Driving laws can vary from state to state, and seeing as Texas is fiercely independent, it is no wonder that it has some pretty unique driving laws. In fact, some of them are downright weird. Here are five you’ve probably never heard of.
What to Do If You Are Caught in a Serious Car Incident
Whether you are driving in Texas or elsewhere, and even if you are following all the rules of the road, unfortunately, accidents can happen. When an auto accident leaves you suffering from serious and life-changing injuries, your overall quality of life will be greatly impacted. If the accident was due to another driver’s recklessness or negligence, you could at least be eligible for compensation for the expenses and impact the accident has on your life.
Hopefully, the worst will not happen. But if you do end up in a car accident that was not your fault, make sure you contact a legal expert in the field like The Patel Firm, which is a car accident attorney in Corpus Christi. And if you are driving in Texas, ensure you follow the rules of the five following driving laws, even if they are weird. If for some reason you’re afraid to drive in Texas after reading these, then you might want to consider selling off your vehicle.
1. You Cannot U-Turn in Richardson
If you find yourself driving in Richardson and you miss your turn, you had best keep driving and go the long way around. Why? Because if you make a U-turn, you will be breaking the law. U-turns are illegal everywhere in Richardson, bizarre as that is. But then Richardson also has a law that makes it illegal to post a “For Sale” sign on a vehicle if it is visible from the street. Well, there is little point in putting a “For Sale” sign on a vehicle if it cannot be seen. Anyway, you will want to think twice before making a U-turn in Richardson.
2. You Must Engage Your Parking Brakes in Fort Worth
Did you know that a while back, police in Fort Worth went around the town issuing parking tickets based on a very obscure law? According to state regulation 545.404, which was enacted in 1995, drivers cannot leave their vehicles unattended without setting the parking brake. Sure, it can be a good habit to put on the parking brake, but why that rule should exist in Fort Worth is anyone’s guess, seeing as the area is quite flat. Furthermore, drivers who were issued with tickets in Fort Worth for not applying their parking brakes have been struggling to get their cases heard.
3. Being Forgetful Can Cost You $500
The same state regulation mentioned above states it is illegal for drivers to leave their keys in the ignition of unattended cars. Of course, you should always take your keys with you. But then, the only time people do not take their keys with them is when they forget to do so. Therefore, it is a bit weird that drivers can receive a $500 ticket for a class C misdemeanor for simply being forgetful.
4. You Cannot Drive Passengers Who Have Drank Alcohol in Lubbock
It should not need to be said, but we will say it anyway: Never drink alcohol and drive. It really is that simple. But in Lubbock, the rules take things to extremes. The law says it is illegal to drive if the driver is within an arm’s length of alcohol. What makes that so weird is it includes the alcohol being in a passenger’s bloodstream.
5. The Catch-22 of Windshield Wipers
Windshields are not legally required on vehicles in Texas. However, windshield wipers are. So, if you have the new Jeep Wrangler that comes with a foldable windshield, you can legally drive with the windshield down. But you must still have windshield wipers.